Improv makes my heart sing…

ImageThere have been a few times in the last couple of years where I have sat my desk at work and asked myself what I was doing with my life. Don’t get me wrong I have extreme gratitude for the blessings of employment. I like being productive and having the security of a regular paycheque and benefits. Work became an escape at times, I threw myself into it to ignore all the things I didn’t want to focus on in my personal life until eventually I let my job consume and define me. At the end of last year it all became crystal clear that, that was not enough. My job is not who Andrea Marston is.

What I wanted was not even that hard of a question to answer. What I wanted has been around since I first laid eyes on the Cosby Show and Saturday Night Live, and that want evolved when I was eleven years old and got my first part in a play as Two-Watt the time traveling Christmas robot. I love the light that burst through myself, a room or a whole theatre when someone inspires laughter in someone else. And when I get to be a part of inspiring that laughter, I feel like I know who I am and what I want to be doing with my life. My fear, my insecurities about my weight and how I appear on stage and the idea of failing – I refuse to let any of that stand in my way anymore. My passion for comedy carries more worth in my life.

Today I had five hours of improv classes while I “should have” been doing all the other practical things on my growing to-do list and to save money for all the practical adult things I should be saving for. But I have absolutely no regrets about the way I spent my day. I pushed my limits in my Musical Improv Intensive Class with Mat and Ryan from my favourite comedy troupe, Notorious (who nailed another killer show at Café Koi – check ‘em out May 24). It is so hard to not be in your head when you are trying to rhyme but the guys were so awesome about celebrating our failures and having us focus on the beat, that I legitimately could feel myself get out of my own head and let go. What was nerve wrecking experience in the first hour, became joyfully fun by the end.

When that class was over I had my last class of Improv Mama an all-ladies class taught by one of my favourite funny improv superstars, Laura Tennisco from Obviously Improv. I have really enjoyed the energy of working with all women. The class has been empowering and supportive. Laura’s notes always celebrated our success before she noted what we need to work on.  I feel like I got a lot of gems out of from her improv tool belt that I am totes gonna steal! I am so excited to be performing a class with these talented women who have helped me grow stage confidence these last few Sundays together. Check us out at Waves Coffee at 30 Springborough Blvd SW on Thursday, May 15 at 8pm when we open for some Calgary Improv’s finest and funniest ladies!

The day has reaffirmed my commitment to storytelling to inspire joy. I want to be a part of that magic and so I shall immerse myself to learn all that I can from all these lovely people who are generous enough to share their expertise with me. And work, well work will pay for it all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

