Full circle – my adventures in storytelling

storytelling

When I was younger than I can remember to put an age to, my father said that I would be a writer. He endowed me with a suggestion that I took on wholeheartedly. For as long as I can remember I have felt most at home in a journal or typing these words on a screen. I have over 51 teenage journals that have been gathering dust in my parents’ basement for years. Whether telling the tales of my own teenage angst or making up stories about the people around me to make them more interesting, storytelling has been a passion of mine. When I finally found improv in junior high, I found a way to bring storytelling to life and I was hooked.

I have gotten through many a ridiculously rough situation in my life by telling myself that someday it would make a great scene in some great piece of work I would be a part of. As the years passed, I wondered if that was going to be just another pipe dream. But as I throw myself into improv, my stories have once again found a home. And the more I let my passion guide me, the more opportunities to share my stories continue to come up.

On June 6 at 10:30pm, I will be featured in Past Your Bedtime with two of my favourite Loose Moosers Andrew Phung and Renee Amber. I will be reading the melodramatic notes passed by the group of friends I had when I was 15 years old and Andrew and Renee will do scenes inspired them. Having something from my past inspire a show is truly a dream come true, especially at a theatre so close to my heart. I am really excited to see that the Loose Moose Theatre, with spearheading from the forward-thinking Andrew Phung, is experimenting with new formats and consistently giving support and opportunity to passionate up-comers to develop skills and get stage time. I am honestly honored to have the opportunity to be involved in the theatre during such an exciting time.

I am also a part of another cool show this Thursday. My women’s improv class that just ended will be opening for some of Calgary’s most talented female improvisers – Laura Tennisco, Renee Amber, Lindsay Mullan and Marie Boston.  I can’t wait to gush about it all right here on this blog! I am so honored to share the stage with women I admire and lookup to so much.

I’m excited for what lies ahead and I hope I see some of you in the audience to watch me take this long awaited leap to chase my lifelong dream for storytelling. Life will take you to some pretty awesome places when you follow your bliss.

Leave a Reply

