Show week = hectic contentment

Contentment

The last two weeks of my life have been insanely busy between working, traveling and improvising. My sleep has been limited but each and every moment I have spent awake has been filled with purpose. And in those moments when I feel my exhaustion catch up with me and inclined to slip into my grumpy pants, I remember that for the first time in what feels like a long time, I have a reason to get up in the morning.

The last decade of my life I have felt a hole in my soul. I know that sounds dramatic but the only other way to define it, is a constant feeling of consistently unsatisfied hunger… for something. I tried to fill it up with food, guys, friends, work and some bad habits but it never went away. And when I sat in improv show after improv show, watched a really good tv show, read a great book … even though I was enjoying it all… my soul would ache.

Since I have been back from my trip to Boston, I have been surrounded by a community of people so passionate and eager about storytelling, comedy and trying new things. And there have been moments this week where I have felt overwhelmed at how I lucky I am to join them this show season. I would write down every single detail here from this past week but this blog would be crazy long. I went to shows every night from Wednesday through Saturday and was lucky enough to perform in two of them. Fear crept up on me but I am happy to report that joy won the battle and I had a great time up on stage with two groups that filled me with laughter last season. I was welcomed, supported and entertained by the Kinkonauts and Obviously Improv.

The more I have gotten involved with improv, the more that old ache has subsided. And last night at the end of a completely wonderful and BUSY show week with the Kinkonauts and Obviously Improv, as I lay my tired head to the pillow, I realized that my soul felt satisfied. My life is far from perfect at the moment but I think this as close to content than I have ever felt in my life.

I can’t tell you enough times how fortunate we here in Calgary to have such a rich comedy scene. Take a break from your mundane routine and try something different, check out a show or heck push yourself out of your comfort zone and take a class! I may not be able to guarantee you that you will find your version of contentment there but I can guarantee you that you will meet some great people.

I have no idea what lies ahead on this great adventure but I suppose that is the beauty of improvising. I just hope I get the chance to make you laugh! Until then, I must go unpack!

❤ A

Leave a Reply

