A significant year

Thank you 2014

I can’t believe it has been a year since I have been going to Kinkonauts shows and January will make a year since I started taking classes with them. It feels like I have known these people for much longer. They are more welcoming to me than some people I have known for years. They have embraced me for who I am and allow me to grow within their community. After years and years of feeling like an outsider, I feel like I am amongst a group of people who maybe don’t get everything about me (I am a weird, handful) but they get my love for comedy and storytelling, and that understanding makes me feel connected to them. And maybe that is the biggest change that has happened this year, for the first time in years, I feel connected. Improv has given me connection, not just within this warm and welcoming community, but with family, friends and at work too. As I realize that every moment of every day is essentially improvised, I put more of an effort into being present, listening and figuring out ways to contribute – instead of checking out (my specialty).

Taking classes with the Kinkonauts and Obviously Improv woke me up and made me take down a lot of the protective walls I had been hiding behind. Now I am on a journey of transformation driven by this fiery ambition I completely forgot was a part of my very being. The girl who practiced writing her Emmy speech in the back of the library in high school and the girl who worked in retail and wrote sketches on receipt paper, well I thought she was long gone. But every time I get a chance to improvise in a show and I push myself past all those nerves, I feel all her ambition bubble up inside me. All those big ass dreams that I had in my youth feel reignited and at the age of 32, I want to chase them down at high speed.

The last year of my life has changed in these amazing ways because I followed my curiosity and tried something new. That is all it takes. Follow the thing that sparks your interest. Dust off old dreams. Never stop exploring the things that light you up on the inside.

This past year has not always been easy or perfect, parts of it were even really hard but this year has been significant. This year matters because I found something I lost and it brought me back. My drive and passion for the year ahead is immense. I am excited for what more lies on this path that I am charging down. I am excited to tackle all the challenges and embrace all the opportunities. I am excited to piece together a life I have been daydreaming about all my days. 2015… I am ready…

PS – If you are interested in following your curiosity about improv, take a class! Check out the schedule at http://www.kinkonauts.com or http://www.calgaryimprov.org.

Leave a Reply

