In full bloom

BloomingI am growing a familiarity with the Sunday after a Kinkonauts Show Week. My cheeks feel like they have had quite the marathon workout, I am a wee bit hungover from a great party that I stayed way too late at and I feel the warm and fuzzy feelings of the joyous week of performing, enthusiastically ushering and learning from and watching my improv friends and heroes.

Show Week has been easy to fall in love with from day one. You walk into the very unassuming tiny lobby and black box theatre that is the Birds & Stone Theatre and you are greeted by the most hospitable bunch of comedy geeks you may ever meet. The energy is brimming with joy. That is how I felt as an audience member, and now even more so being a part of the community.

I have grown quite an eager fondness for ushering and it is cool to be a part of someone’s first show week, especially when I consider my first experience there. I want them to feel excited to be there and most importantly welcomed. That welcoming atmosphere is just the icing on the cake of this unqiue, indie improv experience and it is pretty effing cool to be a part of something that is in full bloom.

This show week, I watched shows differently. Meaning, I observed more like a student rather than a fan (let’s be real… I am still a huge geeky improv fan haha). I took notes in the dark.  And I took a really great workshop with the Kinkonaut’s special guest from New York City Shannon Manning and I am currently in another class with one my faves Mat Mailandt,  that is helping harness my crazy energy and be real on stage. The thing is in these lessons I am not just learning about finding scenes and characters and I am learning to find my confidence. I am learning to have a little faith in myself and that makes me feel like maybe… just maybe… that this late bloomer may finally be in bloom too.

SHAMELESS SELF PROMOTION

March madness is in full effect to this new version of myself that says yes to EVERYTHING! Haha.. Here are a few things that I am playing in that I would totes love you to check out.

Girls Gone Wilde Festival-Women in Improv Night

Fresh Notes: Giggle Duck presents Love Out Loud

Obviously Improv Presents – The Improv Games: Catching Funds

Leave a Reply

